A blog about movies and filmmaking.

The New Iron Man 2 Trailer…

In action, comic books, trailers on March 9, 2010 at 12:00 am

I know what you’re all thinking, “I’m coming here looking for comments about the new IRON MAN 2 trailer, and all there is is a post about the old one.

Well, screw you!!

Er, I mean, I’m happy to oblige. The new trailer, adds onto the epicness of the first trailer. (Though in my opinion doesn’t quite have the “shoot to thrill” that the other one did – including the lack of that amazing song.) But, there is still some AMAZI?NG things that when combining both trailers together, makes me think that IRON MAN 2 has the chance, seriously now, of over-taking THE DARK KNIGHT this Summer.

No, I’m not saying it’ll be a better movie, just that it’ll be more fun, more comic book actiony goodness, and an overall story that’s bound to be a little more family-friendly than the sometimes horrific (if not down-right R-rated) nature of TDK.

For some reason – and I don’t remember if I covered this previously, nor do I care to look back at the original post (send hate mail if you like) – I was never that big of a fan of Iron Man, or Tony Stark, in the comic books. Either in his own stories or combined with the likes of The Avengers. But, something – whether it’s the magic of Jon Favreau’s direction; the character brought to life in the guise of Robert Downey, Jr.; or just seeing a comic book movie that isn’t going for the “grim and gritty” or dumbing down for mainstream audiences, has seriously, made me love this movie franchise.

And this new trailer doesn’t disappoint. We see more of Mickey Rourke’s character, actually interacting with Sam Rockwell’s Justin Hammer, and Stark – more than just slicing his Formula One car in-half with his laser whips – we get a couple more glimpses of Scarlett Johansson’s character (though still no dialogue), and even some fantastic glimpses in the next steps in the Iron Man technology. Including… Well, I won’t spoil it for you, but the trailer ends with a great moment of Stark digging into his briefcase.

Ok, so without further ado, the reason any of you are reading this whole thing, the NEW trailer for IRON MAN 2:

God, I hate that I have to wait two more months to watch this!

Leave a Reply

